Laying Down the Law

Found a rubric for good citizenship, active learner and supporter of diversity from a teacher evaluation website. Shared it with my students –the class that is most disrupted; they listened fairly well–however, I did re-assign three students to separate tables in the back of the room; the most outspoken one informed me he would write a new rubric for the class and I would love it and we would follow it. He also asked me who evaluated/graded me.

I told them they did–daily with their comments; that I took their comments to heart and looked at my teaching, my methods, my behavior. In addition I receive feedback from the principal, colleagues, parents of students and other students not in the classroom. The wind was slowly leaving his sails although he wasn’t going to stop. However, the rest of the class stayed on task for the most part, listened during my 4 minute “lecture” on vocabulary and my 2 minute wrap-up at the end of class. The next class comprised of more than half of the same students did really well. The three young men didn’t even move to different seats.

Did we learn a lesson today? Perhaps. Did I? Yes. I can no longer let these students disrupt the learning, the well-being of the rest of the students. Will I be berated in the halls and behind my back? Yes but I am not there to be their friend; I am there to hold their hand as they venture through daunting content, trying out new thoughts and actions that are socially acceptable while also learning–if I can give them the opportunity and the freedom to learn, then I can rest easier. . . at least for a few weeks IF I am lucky; at least a few days if not.

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in 2013, Education, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laying Down the Law

  1. Language Arts Teacher says:

    Good luck with the rest of the year. What grade do you teach?

  2. mentaldiva says:

    I teach 9- 12 grade; this class is 9th graders. I have four sections of 9th grad students: Algebra 1 and Physical Science.
    I love a challenge and I appreciate my students curiosity; I just don’t appreciate when students’ or anyone’s “rights” impose on others rights.

Leave a comment