Parent Experts

“I went to public schools, K-12th grade, therefore I am an expert on curriculum, classroom management and teaching methods.”

How many times have you heard that from a parent dissatisfied with their students’ progress (or lack thereof)? Or how many board of education, strategic planning, accountability or other such meetings have you heard that this is what is to be taught or that? This teacher isn’t even using a textbook or is using the Internet too much?

Hate to burst your parent bubble but if being a product of the public education system makes you an expert, then why are there teacher and administrative licensure programs? Why are we required to take classes in content, teaching methods, statistics AND school law? Why do we have to continually work on improvement and re-new our licenses every x years? Why can’t anyone apply for and be hired to teach in public schools?

And hearing parents clamoring for highly qualified teachers when they themselves are not highly qualified parents? Just because anyone can become a parent without any proper training, doesn’t mean anyone can become a teacher.

Holding my tongue is becoming more difficult each year; holding my years of training, knowledge and continual education back to spare their feelings? No, to spare their wrath. I know that eventually I will have one of their offsprings in my classroom; I will treat that student as I do all of my others-fairly, accountable and with dignity. If I lose my patience with them now, then any complaint by their child will be met with the memory of my losing patience with them. I do not treat children nor adults disrespectfully and I will not stoop to their level of name-calling and “expertise.”

Hmm, Sunday afternoon, time to go work on the next month’s, week and tomorrow’s lessons as well as grading the few papers turned in on time.

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

