Disruption

I have a group of immature freshmen-primarily boys-who have been allowed to travel through school for 8+ years without being held accountable.  When I say I have tried everything I can think of, all I can think is I still have failed. Try is that word we use to explain away failures. I am not at a loss since I am still looking for the answer but I am very tired of not being able to teach; of calling home, having great conversations with parents only to then have back-biting students play the “I will be quiet at a cost” game.

Some of these students are bullies-quietly and very obtrusively. Not at my wit’s ends but all of the Jim Fay logic in the world is not even helping-any consequence or attempt to hold this small controlling group of boys has been met with nothing less than a war I do not want to fight in my classroom!

I just want to facilitate learning! Share the joy of discovery! Prime students’ wells of curiosity! Shore up timid students’ confidence and success.

I still have three months of school left–I will keep on working on this problem just like a scientist with a heart; find the pattern and apply an algorithm like a mathematician; look deeply into the soul (mine AND theirs) and inspire the desire to learn now and forever just like a teacher.

Yup, think I will go give it another try!

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Education, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Disruption

  1. mental diva says:

    Today my most disruptive freshman boy was out of control. The principal walked in and walked out; he didn’t want to deal with it. I did but never fully. One day of good behavior is all I ask; what is good? Polite, respectful of peers, allows others to learn, to ask questions without fear.
    I am tired of apologizing to my other students-this student is a bully and I am ineffective at stopping him.
    Tomorrow is another chance to control my growing resentment that I cannot teach, that showing loving concerns for my students is met with anger, rudeness and outright disrespect and my consequences are negligible when there is no support from principal or parents.

Leave a Reply

