Abrupt Reality Check

Angry? No not really. Disappointed? Absolutely! Scared? Somewhat. Afraid? Yes. The vortex of feelings this week after a minority of the voting population elected Drumpf for president of the US America. Despite the popular majority vote going to HRC. The electoral college makes the final decision for president and supposedly they will vote for Drumpf. That is the way is has always been. Why would it change now?

Except this campaign has been like no other-at least in my lifetime. Perhaps we will see even more oddities before someone is inaugurated as the 45th president of the US America.

There are so many ironies, hypocrisies, protests, and gloating. Sadly those who think they won, will find that “their” president does not care for them at all. Has no use for them. This makes me very sad. I dislike seeing people being manipulated. Was I manipulated to vote for someone other than the GOP candidate? Possibly except that I pay little attention to public media, read behind the scenes reports, listen to foreign news stations, and then look at the actions and records. I doubt most of what I read in the press or hear in the news. To the point, that I probably am missing some truths as well. However, the only person that my vote counts for is me. I voted my conscience, I voted with research and data, I voted for the candidate that I thought would take care of the majority of people. I will live with my vote and I will live with the winner of the electoral college vote. But it doesn’t mean I am going to roll over and lie low for 2-4 years waiting for the next presidential election or even the mid-term election.

No, it means that I will continue my vigilance of injustice, inequity, and inequalities. I will continue to speak up and out. I probably will do so even more now. While I am not a member of a specific religious organization, I truly believe in and live in the golden rule: “do unto others as you would have them do unto you” (New Testament, Matt 7.12).

 

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

