Tipping Point

The violence of this week has pushed me to the tipping point; the dual citizen former republican presidential candidate who just said he will vote for the party nominee for president has pushed me to the tipping point. The mean, bullying behavior of the GOP presidential has pushed me over the tipping point. I dislike hating but I now hate him. I will work through this but the violent, angry supporters of said candidate will keep fueling that hatred flame and frankly I want to speak out, I want to foolishly say exactly how I feel in their words. So I must find a lifeline and stop the hatred.

Having grown up during the 60s and 70s, I know what it was like when people were protesting and fighting for civil rights, equal rights, and fighting against the police action in Vietnam. More peaceful than violent but protests all the same. I also grew up fighting for my own rights as female in a white male world.

Now, many women do not like HRC, the democratic candidate for the president of the US. Why? Because she is not warm and cuddly? Because she has borne the brunt of discrimination as a woman, as a lawyer, as a public figure for the same years I have experienced it but not so publicly. Is she my favorite candidate? In this election she is the only candidate. Of course there are other women I think are just as qualified and perhaps more popular but they are not the candidate. Yes, I will vote for her proudly.

When I hear women disliking her, calling her a liar, I wonder how many of them are projecting their own faults on to her. And I won’t even go there since I don’t think they are faults but that is our society.  Often what we do not like in others is our weakness or least like trait/characteristic/habit.

The increase in racial strife in our country is not President Obama’s fault nor due to his lack of leadership. It is the result of the fear of white men; white men who see how successful President Obama has been despite the obstruction of Congress, the plotting to stop him by white men corporations, and by other white entities. His success has fueled their fear of people of color, of Black people, while people of color are scared to death for their very lives. As well as scared that the GOP presidential candidate might actually win.

If HRC is elected (fingers crossed, voting), the backlash will increase violence against women during her term. I am not happy about that but I will lean in, fight back, and stand proud. Stronger together-isn’t that her campaign slogan?

Okay, I found a lifeline from writing this, sharing it will help, but this will be a fight probably the rest of my granddaughter’s life, sadly. Although I can always hope that we will settle some of this inequality and inqeuit this election season.

 

 

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

