Building dendrites

Learning is my avocation. Anything new, diving deeper below the surface to understand the why as well as the what and how. But my adult life as a learning was spent in traditional learning, then teaching science and math, and after 28 years, I was pretty good. I incorporated strategies to help all students learn, differentiated, challenged, encouraged, engaged, and sent my students out into the world to test their wings.

Now it is my turn to test my wings. And it is scary. Overwhelming. Exhilarating. Demanding. Fear of building on to my readily established and doing well dendrites, fear of not making the grade, fear of failure. Yes, fear of failure. After telling my students year after year that failure is just another way of learning, that failure is failing to try again, to give it another shot, to persevere, now it is my turn to give the talk to myself. Easier said than done. Knowing my students will succeed is one thing, taking an entrenched person into new pastures of learning, is another. Heavy sigh. Time to walk the talk.

Feeling a lot of new dendrites forming. . .

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Education, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

