Unsettled

Something is off. Not sure what it is. I just do not feel grounded this past week.

Perhaps it is the dental work I had done successfully but still an intrusion to my health. Or is it that my thyroid is starting to give out. Found that out between the root canal and the filling to plug the hole made for the root canal. Or . . . is it the world?

I am having a difficult time wrapping my head around the excess in candidates for president, particularly in the Republican party. The buying of candidates by rich people with little room for the honest person who not just means well but does well by others.

The loss of life also has been in my thoughts with the death of three, yes three people I have known from my small town; two accidents, one premeditated in two weeks. Two funerals in one day? Yes, that is unsettling.

I do not want to lose my “cup is always full attitude”-even when half full of a liquid, the other half of the cup is full of a fluid, called air. But my optimism isn’t gone; it just seems to be taking a vacation. I will be glad when it is back.

Until then, I will move a little slower, look both ways at least twice before crossing, pulling out of a driveway, into an intersection, riding my bike. And grieve a little bit every day for lives lost, . . until the optimism returns to my usually happy, smiling, whistling face! And revel in the wonders of the heavens looking out my back door. And count my blessings of friends. And. . . still unsettled but less so.

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

