Confidence

Growing confidence in humans, especially women, people of different backgrounds than the majority, children, students, –how do we do this successfully? Not easily, when we ourselves often question ourselves, feel our own weaknesses overpower our strengths. So many people do this to themselves and it is not easy to overcome.

Sheryl Sandburg’s Lean In talks about this very concern. After reading her book, I worked on leaning in, being more outspoken when need be, but that doesn’t take away that creepy, crawly thing called self-doubt.

There are oh so many examples I could share here. Talking to my close friends, we all have had this, still do at the weirdest times in our lives, and yes, some men do experience this as well. It is a human thing but how we deal with it is based on our cultural history.

Sometimes I have to keep saying over in my head, “I did not do anything wrong” to keep from beating myself up for someone else’s behavior. Whoa! Someone else’s behavior??? That is the key but it doesn’t make it any easier! It is their behavior, not mine. I can choose to make it more than it is or not. Again easier said than done but I am working on it. Really. I do not want to be crippled by my own lack of confidence.

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

