Destruction of my (former) school district

I knew a day would come that I would  leave my school district. I didn’t know that it was going to be this past school year. I didn’t start school last fall (2013) thinking this is my last year of teaching here. Within one week I knew the new principal needed support, was trouble, lied, insecure and overly confident, and most of all, ignorant of people skills if that person was female. Whew.

Being confident enough, empowered by my students’ successes, my PLC across the country, I did my job. However, others around me were attacked, mercilessly and without merit. By January, I knew I could not stay without losing my integrity, ethics, respect, and most of all, myself. One day, second week of January, I sat at my computer after school and cried, realizing that I was in my last year of teaching in this school district. Third week, I knew I would make the most of my last year without telling my students, colleagues and most certainly not my principal. I did give the superintendent a heads-up but to no avail.

I applied, was accepted, and even more wonderful, given money to return to school for my doctorate. When my principal found out, she was supported until she realized I was being paid to go back to school. That and I didn’t discuss this with her until I knew I had my funding secured. Then she become angry and vindictive against me. Fortunately I was already gone. . . .

Sadly, six others are leaving the high school, two the middle school, and I am not sure all is settled at the elementary school as staff are still bailing out before the ship sinks. Very sad indeed when you know the students are the ones who will be forgotten, hurt, and the teachers will be blamed. All because of an egomaniacal lust for power by one principal that even the superintendent is afraid of. Sad indeed.

Just call me ABS -all but started!

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Education, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

