Old and in the way

Yes, that is what our society does to people. You are in the way–oh wait, what it really means in my current situation is that I don’t jump when the new principal walks into the room, asking how high as I leave the ground.

What I do is teach teenagers. I would like to inspire them to see the beauty of knowledge, sometimes I just have to focus on understanding similar figures, proportions, and other mathematics in a mathematics-phobia society who actually celebrate that they don’t like math. I would like to give them real-world examples but if less than x % of the class is engaged my verb in my learning objective for the day must be wrong. Oh and I hold students accountable for turning in their work despite being standards-based in my instruction. ARGH! I am doing my best to NOT whine but the writing has finally showed up on the wall and I hope I am reading it wrong.

Students are expected to learn? Oh yeah, the system of crying foul when they don’t like the rigors of a classroom, assignment, or test. Oh yeah, when they can mock you, ignore you, be rude to other students (oh yeah we are anti-bullying as long as you are the popular athlete. . .heavy sigh) and you firmly ask them to stop because one you are not blind and two you can see and hear them.  Enabling anyone to not be responsible for their actions is wrong. I blame the lady at the McDonald’s drive up window who put the hot coffee between her legs and drove off to pain and then the pleasure of winning a lawsuit against them. That opened the floodgate of holding others responsible for your lack of common sense and good judgement.

Okay, I am sure there is some sense in this but it does ramble a bit as I do not understand what it is that is wrong about having standards of behavior as well as instruction.

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Education, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

