Absence and the heart. . . okay.

Time to blog? Not really, need to be grading. But need to vent and this is the safest place.

Sat in a meeting, no, participated in a meeting that spent over an hour discussing measurable instructional verbs. Really. Super said do not use Demonstrate and demonstrate showed up on every single manufactured list we looked at. And in science I assess on demonstrations frequently as in continually during any class. I am 85% sure that the verb I use will make the difference between an unsatisfactory versus a proficient. No one said ever.

Discipline is a thing of the past. . .students either write out their feelings and interpretation; teachers are questioned and the students are monitored to ensure the teacher doesn’t hurt the student again by oh say asking them to sit in their seat and work; think-please think deeper and more critically. I mean I said please. . .

No one is happy right now and I do have the years in for retirement; I just am not old enough!

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

