Safe Schools

This is still raw in my mind and most certainly in my heart but I do not want guns in my school. IF a professional law enforcement person is in the school with a gun, yes, but anyone else no. I do not want to be shot accidentally by a colleague, student or even by my own gun.

The one person I can think of that will immediately volunteer to carry a gun is the LAST person I want with a gun “protecting” me or my students for that matter.

I am fortunate to have a very safe room-old time fire-door with no windows is the only entrance to my room; two side rooms that cannot be seen by anyone outside my room or even on the roof–I do have a few windows up high.

What I do want are students, parents and even communities that value life. That value and respect life, especially their own. Unfortunately I see a throw-away society becoming the norm and respectful, dignified behavior the abnormal. Sadly, too many of my students do not understand the value of their own thoughts, their own selves, their own bodies, their own property. . . .

I don’t have all of the answers but having a gun in my classroom or in the classroom across the hall or down the stairs is not the answer.

About mentaldiva

Only dead fish go with the flow--I am not swimming upstream all the time, but I certainly do not merely go with the flow either. Professional female with expectations of equity living in a redneck community needing to express herself!
This entry was posted in Education, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

